Campaign at a Glance


I started my journey with United Way of the Ouachitas in 2011 when I was asked to serve as a volunteer on their Community Impact Team, but little did I know where that would lead. Now, six years later, I still have the same enthusiasm and passion for United Way and have begun my fifth year as a member of the Board of Directors and proudly serve as your Campaign Chair for 2017.

As a previous business owner, I was familiar with the process of United Way campaigns for employers that offered their employees the opportunity to “give back” to their community through payroll deductions, YET I had no idea of the importance and impact that giving has on Hot Springs, Garland County, and the Ouachita area. As a volunteer, I knew there were needs in our area, but to see those needs firsthand was overwhelming. Serving on this committee has given me the opportunity to meet many wonderful people and organizations who are dedicated to making this community a better place to live, work, and raise our families.

The United Way campaign is at the heart of what United Way stands for, as it serves as the vehicle for funding many of the community’s badly needed organizations and programs. Without YOUR help and commitment, many of these needs will go unserved and unanswered. I believe the United Way is the best agency, not only to be a source of this funding, but also in bringing other agencies and the community together to have a greater impact in addressing such needs as health services for the uninsured, child and family poverty, homelessness, and educational and vocational opportunities for special needs individuals, just to name a few.

I thank you for your willingness to be a part of something greater than ourselves – to make this a community that helps and serves others – giving everyone the opportunity to be successful. I look forward to meeting you and working with you to make this 2017 Campaign the best year yet!               




Michelle Ratcliff
Cooperative Christian
Ministries and Clinic
2017 Campaign Chair